{flourless} banana granola pancakes

by Chen

P1030146

which means that they are gluten free.

It’s been a long time since my last update; more than one year, I guess? I graduated, moved back to Bay Area, and found a job, an academic counselor. I used to think my major had nothing to do with education, but surprisingly, I’m quite good at it. There must be something inherited from my mom.

Yeah yeah I confess. Being busy shouldn’t be an excuse, but it hardly left me energy to think about anything exciting to cook until I saw a post on the kitchn during my lunch break yesterday–2-ingredient banana pancakes.

How could I qualify for a big fan of bananas (check here and here) if I let this one slip away? I did modify the recipe a bit by using only one egg and adding granola for some body and texture. The key was to let the mixture (leave the egg out) sit overnight to soften the granola. And? Oh man…I couldn’t be more satisfied.

P1030148

banana granola pancakes

Makes one serving, two 6-inch pancakes

1 small ripe banana, mashed
1/4 cup granola
scant 1/4 cup milk
1 egg, beaten
oil to coat the pan
topping of your choice: yogurt, fruit, nuts, and/or syrup

Mix the banana, granola, and milk together. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Stir the egg into the mixture. Coat a nonstick pan with oil and heat over medium low heat. Drop the batter. When the surface start to bubble (this may take 3-4 minutes), flip and cook for another 2 minutes or until golden brown.

Eat.

