welcome breakfast: mango yogurt scones

by Chen

photo 4

Making something from scratch for breakfast means: plenty of time, good mood, and the return to my normal life.

photo 1

It has been more than one month since my last post. During the past five weeks, I cooked when I felt depressed but did not post anything, and I hardly worried about feeding myself–granola bars, dried fruit, nuts, crackers, and prepared food–anything that could fill me up and were not too unhealthy became pantry stable. It was all because of the exams.

photo 2

Now I am back to bay area and, further, back to “me”, an old lady being trapped in a young body that gets up super early in the morning, ties a ponytail and stays in pajamas if not going out, reads food blogs while eating, and makes five-star breakfast for the family. Seriously, I might be the most precisely named person in the world–Chen, morning in Chinese. My daily routine sounds incredible to most people at my age, but imagine this: when you wake up in the morning with a screaming stomach to the fresh baked goodies like these lightly sweetened perfect-for-summer scones, which are buttery and flaky outside and tender inside, you are gonna love me.

photo 3

mango yogurt scones
Makes 8

1 1/2 cups AP flour
1/8 tsp baking soda
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp sugar
1/4 tsp cinnamon
6 tbsp cold unsalted butter, diced

1 cup plain yogurt (not Greek style)
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup finely diced mango

cornmeal for the baking sheet (optional)
melted butter and raw sugar for topping

Preheat the oven to 425F. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and sprinkle with cornmeal if using.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, sugar and cinnamon. Using a fork or pastry cutter, cut the butter into the flour mixture until it becomes pea-sized crumbs. Stir in the yogurt, vanilla, and mango until they just come together. The dough is soft and sticky, and the next step will be messy.

Turn the dough onto a floured surface. Shape it into a 1/2 inch thick rectangle (Do NOT knead it) and fold the left and right 1/3 part towards the center. Turn the dough over. Do the folding twice more, and this will result in layered biscuits. After folding, shape it, again, into 1/2 inch thick rectangle. Cut the dough into 4 squares, then cut each into two triangles. If the mango escapes, just push it back.

Transfer the scones to the prepared the baking sheet, brush the top with melted butter, and generously sprinkle with raw sugar. Bake until the scones are golden brown, about 15 minutes. Serve warm. They are heavenly good with more melted butter for serving, according to my cousin Edgar.

