double chocolate frozen yogurt

by Chen

P1000327

A sweet start of a tough month.

I won’t be around for a while, a month, I guess. It’s not because I’m leaving for a vacation; there are six exams “staring” at me. I’d better stop here, post the recipe, enjoy my frozen yogurt (yes, now, 7am), and go back to study.

See you.

P1000322

double chocolate frozen yogurt
Makes about 3 cups

2 cups whole milk plain yogurt
1 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 cup brown sugar, more to taste
1 tsp vanilla
1 oz dark chocolate (70% or higher cocoa content)

Roughly chopped half of the chocolate and finely grated the other half. Set aside.

Combine the heavy cream, cocoa powder, brown sugar, and chopped chocolate in a small sauce pan and heat over medium-low heat. Keep stirring until smooth. Remove from the heat and stir in the vanilla. Let the mixture cool to room temperature.

Whisk in the yogurt and grated chocolate until well combined. Cover and refrigerate the base overnight.

Churn the chilled base in an ice cream machine according to instructions. Freeze until firm before serving.

