warm asparagus mushroom salad with green onion pesto

by Chen

P1000139

It’s here, in my bowl.

I see tons of asparagus. I see fresh peas. I see fava beans. I see artichokes. I see farm-fresh eggs. I see strawberries. I see rhubarbs. I see bright cardigans. I see floral skirts. I see spring.

P1000143

warm asparagus mushroom salad with green onion pesto
Makes 1 serving

6 stalks of asparagus, trimmed and sliced diagonally
1/2 cup sliced mushrooms
1/2 tsp olive oil
1 tbsp green onion pesto (recipe follows)
1 fried egg, sunny-side-up
salt and black pepper

Heat the oil in a small pan over medium heat and add the mushrooms and a pinch of salt. Cook until the mushrooms release the juice and are lightly browned. Add the asparagus. Continue to cook until crispy tender. Turn off the heat and stir in the pesto. Add just the salt and pepper to taste. Serve warm with a fried egg.

green onion pesto
Makes about 1/2 cup

3 green onions
1 clove of garlic
1/4 cup walnut
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
2 tbsp EVOO
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper

Place all the ingredients in a food processor and pulse until smooth.

