where is b-day cake + whole wheat couscous with cherry tomato and avocado

by Chen

20130225-073316.jpg

I made a cake. Two, actually.

I thought I would post a real cake for my b-day just like what I did last year, but there must be something going wrong. For my first cake, I whisked together the egg yolk, sugar, and dairy then fold in the whipped egg white without mixing in the flour. It turned out to be a scrub sponge. Leaving out the baking powder in the second one, I ended up with an extremely dense and chewy cake, it tasted good though.

No cake recipe posted this time and back to wholesome eating.

20130225-073308.jpg

whole wheat couscous with cherry tomato and avocado
Makes 4 servings

1 cup whole wheat couscous
1 cup low-sodium chicken stock
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
1 avocado, diced
1 tbsp lemon juice
salt and black pepper

In a sauce pan, combine the stock, oil, and 1/4 tsp salt and bring to a boil. Whisk in the couscous. Turn off the heat and cover. Let it stand for five minutes. Uncover and fluff the couscous with a fork.

In a large bowl, toss together the tomatoes, avocado, lemon juice, and cooked couscous. Adjust the salt and pepper to taste.

