again and again: pasta with sweet pepper and fresh ricotta

by Chen

DSC03348

When I am busy and lazy.

It was already the third time that I made this. Last time? Two days ago. First time? Monday. Besides the fact that I had a family-sized bag of sweet and juicy colorful bell peppers to consume, I was sold on Calabro’s fresh ricotta; it was so milky and velvety with super fine soft and creamy curds. During the past week, I added it to pasta, spread it on my morning toasts, and even ate it plain–couldn’t stop thinking about this cloud-like beauty till I finished the whole tube. Since I haven’t done yet by the time of publishing this post, I may make more of this in the coming week.

DSC03353

pasta with sweet pepper and fresh ricotta
Makes one serving

1/2 cup short-cut pasta (I used whole wheat penne)
1/2 tsp EVOO
3 to 4 mini bell peppers or half of a large one, seeded and julienned
2 tbsp fresh ricotta cheese (whole milk)
1 tbsp chopped parsley
salt and pepper

Cook the pasta according to the package instructions. Drain and set aside. Reserve the pasta water.

Heat the oil in a pan over medium heat and add peppers along with a pinch of salt. Saute until the peppers are crispy tender. Add parsley and drained pasta to the pan. Stir and cook until heated through. If the mixture gets too dry, add some reserved pasta water. Adjust salt and pepper to taste and remove the pan from the heat.

At this point, you can stir in the ricotta until melted and well combined. Alternatively, transfer the pasta to the serving plate and dollop the ricotta on the top. Serve warm or at room temperature.

It’s lunchbox-friendly!

DSC03361

