not without cheese: garlicky braised cabbage with parmesan

by Chen

0120_1

What to do with half a package of coleslaw mix?

I love coleslaw, even the one from KFC. It is sweet and tangy and with a hint of bitterness from the raw cabbage. But growing up eating traditional Chinese food, I still prefer the cooked cabbages. To me, braising is THE way to deal with them, which brings out the maximum sweetness. Compare to my mom’s exceptional cabbage with minced pork (I guess she uses not-that-lean pork and adds sugar to make the dish a killer), I tried to give it a twist and achieve some richness by using the both fresh and dried garlic and sharp parmesan cheese and it worked.

0120_2

garlicky braised cabbage with parmesan

8 oz shredded cabbage (I used the store-bought coleslaw mix)
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1/2 tsp dried garlic
1 tsp olive oil
1/2 cup low-sodium chicken stock
2 tbsp fresh grated parmesan cheese, plus more for serving
salt and pepper

Heat the oil in a skillet over medium heat until hot. Add the cabbage, fresh and dried garlic along with a pinch of salt. Stir occasionally and cook until the cabbage is softened. Pour in the chicken stock. Cover and cook until the vegetable is tender. Add the parmesan cheese and mix well. Adjust the salt to taste. Serve warm with more parmesan and black pepper.

