simple or complicated + vegetable omelette sandwich with greek yogurt spread

by Chen

Sandwiches, my weekday lunch stables.

They are one of the easiest things to assemble: toast, spread, stack, and wrap. All I need is to think about the combination to be sandwiched and spend 5 to 10 minutes in the morning to prepare one for lunch. On the other side, that is also why I eat a lot of sandwiches but rarely post any–too busy to think about it, generally.

Most of my sandwiches are simple and require little cooking; it is like choosing appropriate ingredients from each category: protein + veggie + condiment. However, as long as I have time, I would like to make a slightly delicate one like today. A vegetable loaded omelette and creamy and tangy Greek yogurt in between two slices lightly toasted multigrain bread, what a perfect lunch for a lazy summer day.

BTW, I’m enjoying my summer break now, which means that I may either disappear for a while or post new recipes like crazy.

vegetable omelette sandwich with greek yogurt spread
Makes 1 serving

2 tbsp plain Greek yogurt
1/2 tsp EVOO

1 egg, beaten
1/4 cup frozen vegetable (I used a mix of corns, carrots, peas, and green beans)
1/2 tsp oil for making omelette (vegetable oil, butter, etc)
salt and pepper

2 slices bread, lightly toasted

In a small bowl, whisk together Greek yogurt and 1/2 tsp EVOO until smooth. Season with salt and pepper to taste and set aside.

Heat 1/2 tsp oil a small nonstick pan over medium heat. Add the vegetable in a single layer. Stir occasionally and cook until softened. Season with salt and pepper. Pour in the egg. Tilt the pan to make sure that the bottom of the pan is covered. Continue to cook until the egg is set. Flip once if needed.

Remove the pan from the heat. Fold the omelette into a half moon and cut into to two wedges. Spread the yogurt mixture on one side of the bread and sandwich the omelette in between. Serve warm or at room temperature.

