for freshness and colorfulness: zucchini, radish, and sweet pepper salad with buttermilk dressing

by Chen

Last night, after preparing today’s lunch, I found myself out of vegetables but having a quite “positive” supply of buttermilk, my new favorite dairy product.

In between two of my lectures this morning, instead of studying for the coming finals, I was checking what vegetables were in-season in the library.

I know what you are thinking. I am too serious. Sometimes, I do believe that it is the typical season making things more meaningful–not only Thanksgiving turkey or Christmas peppermint candy, but roasted stone-fruits in late summer, poached pears in autumn, creamy soups in winter, and light and bright salads in spring!

zucchini, radish, and sweet pepper salad with buttermilk dressing
Makes 4-6 servings

For the dressing:
1/2 cup buttermilk
2 tbsp mayo
1 tbsp honey or sugar
1 tbsp cider vinegar
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper

For the salad:
1 lb zucchini, thinly sliced
1 dozen (about 12 oz) radishes, thinly sliced
4 mini sweet peppers, thinly sliced (color of your choice)
1/4 cup chopped parsley
more salt and pepper to taste

Combine all the ingredients for the dressing in a bowl; whisk until smooth.

Find a HUGE mixing bowl (I used a large saute pan, the largest “bowl” I had). Toss everything together with the dressing. Adjust salt and pepper if needed. Chill before serving.

