when i was a child + gingery omelette soup

by Chen

June 1st, Children’s Day.

When I was a child…to be precise, when I was in kindergarten, my auntie was surprised that I was already picky about chocolate–quality, taste, etc.

So, I have been a foodie for more than 20 years? No idea. But I do save the good stuff in a secret folder in my brain and always try to replicate.

The first time that I had this soup was in one of most famous Chinese steamed soup dumplings (xiao long bao) restaurants in Shanghai at least 15 years ago. However, I clearly remember how the ginger stood out when I bit into the egg, actually, sliced omelette. Spicy ginger and rich egg, doesn’t this unique combination sound memorable?

gingery omelette soup
For the garnish, Chinese people are extremely into cilantro, of which I am never a big fan. I prefer its cousin–parsley–or chive or green onion.

Makes 1 serving

1 egg
oil for making the omelette

1 piece coin-sized fresh ginger, sliced into very thin stripes
3/4 cup + 1 tbsp low sodium chicken broth, divided
1 tsp cornstarch
1/4 tsp sesame oil
salt and white pepper
fresh herb, such as parsley, cilantro, chive, or green onion, for garnish (optional)

Beat the egg with a pinch of salt. Lightly coat the bottom of a small nonstick pan with oil and heat over medium heat. Make an omelette as usual. When it’s done, let it cool slightly and cut into equal-sized stripes.

Place the ginger and 3/4 cup chicken broth in a small sauce pan over medium-high heat. When the broth comes to a boil, lower the heat to medium-low and gently stir in the egg stripes. Let it cook for another 3 minutes.

Whisk together 1 tsp cornstarch and the remaining 1 tbsp broth in a bowl until smooth. Add into the soup mixture. When the soup comes to a simmer and starts to thicken, turn off the heat and add salt and white pepper to taste. Ladle the soup into a serving bowl, drizzle in sesame oil, and garnish with herb if needed. Serve hot.

