do you celebrate + pan roasted tomato salad with black olive, fresh basil, and sardine

by Chen

Mom called me yesterday, saying that she was making salted duck eggs. She kept on repeating the ingredients and process. I may not really get it until I try someday in the future. Sorry, mom, there is no way for me to find duck eggs right now.

But those eggs do remind me that it’s Easter Day today. Because of the culture, Chinese people do not celebrate this holiday. However, I celebrate it as the official beginning of spring, a vibrant season.

No surprise–a colorful salad is essential for spring. However, this is the first time that I cook with sardine, my new found. I get to know this little fish from Alton Brown’s Goods Eats, a show I am following. The meat is soft and not as woody as tuna, and with the lemon juice, it’s really a plus. Mmm~I think I’m hooked.

pan roasted tomato salad with black olive, fresh basil, and sardine
Eat sardines with bones, a good source of calcium. Canned sardines can be found in canned tuna section.

Makes 1 serving

a handful (about 10) cherry tomatoes
3 black olives, chopped
4 fresh basil leaves, thinly sliced
2 sardines, broken into small chunks
1 clove garlic, chopped
1 tsp EVOO
1 scant tsp fresh lemon juice
2 tsp Parmesan cheese
salt and pepper

Heat 1 tsp EVOO in a small pan over medium-low heat. When the oil gets hot, add the tomatoes to the pan and cook until softened. Add garlic and continue cook. Shake the pan often to avoid burning.

When the tomatoes start to burst, turn off the heat and toss in olives, basil leaves, sardines, and lemon juice. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Transfer to a serving bowl and top with Parmesan cheese.

Again, have a nice spring!

