steamed mushroom, green onion, and ginger stuffed chicken + sweet and sour cucumber

by Chen

Sunday. In my slouchy sweatpants. Preparing some hearty chicken. Making my mom’s repetition for warm weathers–sweet and sour cucumber. Writing a new post.

It could be better if this was not a weekend towards the final exams…

Chicken, chicken, and more chicken. I notice that I am so into chicken. Don’t you think these birds are the most easy-cooking and nutritious and delicious yet inexpensive eats?

I was not clear how I came up with the steamed stuffed chicken. Maybe the coming of finals was driving me crazy. But I did know why I tried to make (or at least imitate) my mom’s sweet and sour cucumber–something refreshing was called.

steamed mushroom, green onion, and ginger stuffed chicken
Makes 4 thighs

4 chicken thighs, skinless and boneless

For EACH thigh, you need:
1 dried mushroom, soaked overnight then sliced
1 green onion, cut into 2-inch long
1/4 tsp chopped fresh ginger

For the marinate:
1 tbsp cornstarch
1 tbsp water from what you soaked mushroom in
1 tbsp cooking wine
1 tsp soy sauce
1/2 tsp sesame oil
1/2 tsp brown sugar
1/4 tsp salt

In a large bowl, mix the ingredients for marinate until well incorporated. Add the chicken thighs to the marinate and let sit for 30 minutes.

Remove the chicken from the marinate and place cut side up. Distribute mushroom, green onion and ginger in the center and roll up. Place the thighs in the bowl you use to steam. Pour the marinate over the top.

Steam for 25 minutes. Turn off the heat and let it stand for 10 minutes WITHOUT removing the lid of the steamer. Serve warm.

sweet and sour cucumber
Makes 2 servings

1 cucumber, about 8-inch long and 2-1/2-inch in diameter
2 tsp sugar (I was out of sugar so I used honey)
3-4 tbsp Chinkiang vinegar or balsamic vinegar, depending on how sour you like
1/8 tsp salt

Half the cucumber lengthwise then slice diagonally.

Toss the remaining ingredients and cucumber together in a large bowl. Cover and refrigerate for at least 4 hours or overnight.

