pasta salad with spinach and sun-dried tomatoes + perfectly boiled egg

by Chen

Two posts a day? Yes. A bonus for long weekend, sort of.

I live on various sandwiches and pasta salads for weekday lunch. If I have only a short break between two classes, I bring my lunch-on-the-go, sandwich; if not, I prefer to fix a pasta salad that can be prepared ahead. I never get bored of this not only because I enjoy cooking, but also that bringing your own lunch is essential for a healthy diet (considering portion control, nutrition balance, etc).

This one is what I made for my lunch tomorrow and is now sitting in the refrigerator. I realize that it meets the bottom-line for those too-busy-to-cook people: done in twenty minutes, no rocket science, refreshing, and simply delicious.

perfectly boiled egg
Makes one

Place one egg in a small sauce pan and cover with water by 1 inch. Cover the pan and bring to a boil. Immediately turn off the heat. Without removing the lid, let stand for about 8 minutes (adjust the time if you prefer running/hard yolks). Then, pour out the hot water and add cold water to the pan. When the egg is cool enough to handle, remove from the water and prepare as needed. This should give you an egg with soft white and golden and moisture yolk.

pasta salad with spinach and sun-dried tomatoes
This yields one serving for a petite-sized girl with petite appetite. Scale up the recipe if needed.

1/2 heaping cup of whole wheat short cut pasta
1 cup of spinach leaves, roughly sliced
1 tbsp chopped sun-dried tomatoes

For the dressing:
1 tsp EVOO
1-2 tsp apple cider vinegar
1/2 tsp prepared mustard
1/2 tsp honey
black pepper, as much as you like
salt to taste

Cook the pasta according to the package instructions.

Mix the ingredients for dressing together in a small bowl.

When the pasta is ready, drain and transfer to a large bowl. Toss pasta, spinach, tomato, and dressing together.

