not-everyday fried eggs

by Chen

(I apologize for the quality of the photos. I made these for our breakfast this morning in a hurry.)

What can I do to a fried egg? Braise. Is braising always painstaking? Almost…but not this one.

Did I mention how good my mom‘s braised dishes were? I think so. Did I mention how lazy my mom was? Maybe. So, these super easy but seriously delicious eggs are absolutely her repertoire. I stole the recipe from her with some update, and now it’s one of my cousin Edgar‘s favorites.

braised fried eggs
Makes 3

I. Sauce:
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tsp sugar
1 tsp cooking wine
1 tsp rice vinegar
1/2 cup water
salt and pepper to taste (you may not need more salt because of the saltiness from the soy sauce)

II.
3 large eggs
3 tsp vegetable oil, divided
1 clove garlic, thinly sliced (mom skips this)
2 tbsp thinly sliced green onion (mom skips this)

Mix the ingredients for the sauce in a bowl and set aside.

Heat 1 tsp oil in a nonstick pan over medium heat. Crack ONE egg into the pan and cook until the white is set (the yolk is still running). Carefully remove from the pan. Repeat this for the remaining two eggs.

Adjust the heat to medium-low and add the garlic to the pan. When the garlic is about to turn brown, add the sauce mixture to the pan with the three eggs (do NOT burn the garlic). Cover the pan with a lid and simmer for 5-10 minutes or until the yolks just stop running. Remove the lid and adjust heat to high. Cook until the liquid is almost out.

Finally, sprinkle with the green onion and serve and eat.

